• 01264 737770

World Vegan Month

Rupert St Aubyn

Posted on November 11 2020

What makes our wine vegan?

With the start of World Vegan Month, what better time to share an insight or two into the thing we’re most passionate about – wine! We hope you’ll be celebrating this month with a vegan-approved treat or two, but if you’ve found yourself struggling to find a suitable wine to accompany, you’d be forgiven for being confused as to why. 

You see, not all wines are vegan. Whilst they typically start out completely fruit-based, it’s the production techniques used in wineries that can quickly turn a blend into one that vegans would avoid. 

How does it work?

During the fermentation process of a young wine, tiny molecules such as proteins, tartrates, tannins and phenolics can appear. They’re all natural by-products and completely harmless to consume, but they will produce a cloudy or hazy appearance. 

In an industry where looks really do matter, most winemakers wouldn’t market their products if they weren’t crystal clear. Most, if left long enough, will self-fine, but the quickest and simplest solution has traditionally come from the introduction of fining agents. 

Whilst there are vegan-friendly alternatives, many of the most common fining agents such as albumin (egg whites) or casein (milk protein) contain animal products. These are removed from the wine once the process is complete, but tiny traces can be absorbed. 

Are all our wines Vegan?

 

Over 50% of our Wines are Vegan whereby the refining processes having been developed using zero animal products, minimal intervention

It is! We’ve always wanted to adopt a more natural approach in everything we do, so we’re proud to say that our CBD-infused wines are 100% vegan. Our refining process has been carefully developed using zero animal products, minimal intervention and maximum sustainability.

This World Vegan Month, and to celebrate, please use code VEGAN6 at checkout for buy 5 get one free. order by 30th November. 

More Posts

Next Post